2020 Right Livelihood Laureates to be honoured on December 3

Press releases 19.11.2020

2020 Laureates of the Right Livelihood Award, also known as the “Alternative Nobel Prize,” are set to be honoured on Thursday, December 3, in a live virtual Award Presentation.

The celebration – hosted out of Stockholm with live appearances by 2020 Laureates from locations around the world – will feature international experts, such as Swedish Foreign Minister Ann Linde, presenting the Award. Musical guests include Sweden’s 2020 Eurovision pick, The Mamas.

Time: 6 – 7:15 pm CET on Thursday, December 3, 2020

Place: online at 2020.rightlivelihoodaward.org

The 2020 Laureates to be honoured are:

As part of the Award, the four Laureates are each receiving 1 million SEK to further their work.

Live signal can be provided free of charge by request.

Access photos during the Award Presentation here.


Media Contact

International media: Emoke Bebiak, emoke.bebiak@rightlivelihood.org, +41 78 333 84 84

German media: Julia Naumann and Nina Tesenfitz, presse@rightlivelihood.org, +49 (0)170 5763 663

Spanish media: Nayla Azzinnari, nayla@rightlivelihood.org, +54 9 11 5460 9860

Swedish media: Johannes Mosskin, johannes@rightlivelihood.org, +46 70 437 11 48


About the Right Livelihood Award

Established in 1980, the Right Livelihood Award aims to nurture the human courage needed to achieve peace, justice and sustainability for all. By recognizing the actions of brave visionaries and building impactful connections around the world, the Award aims to boost urgent and long-term social change.

182 Laureates from 72 countries have received the distinction to date.

The Stockholm-based Right Livelihood Foundation presenting the Award sees its role as being a megaphone and shield for the Laureates, providing them with long-term support. The Foundation’s main aims are to raise the profile of the Laureates and their work, provide protection when Laureates’ lives and liberty are in danger, and educate people on the innovative solutions presented by Laureates. The Foundation has Special Consultative Status with the UN Economic and Social Council.

A particular feature of the Award is that anyone can nominate individuals and organisations for consideration. An international Jury selects the Laureates after careful investigation by the Foundation’s research team. Unlike most other international prizes, the Right Livelihood Award has no categories. It recognises that in striving to meet the challenges of today’s world, the most inspiring and remarkable work often defies any standard classification.

Media contacts

Marina Shupac

Eastern European Media

E-mail: marina.shupac@rightlivelihood.org
Phone: +41 (0)76 746 13 59

Mikaela Fredrikson

Multimedia & Copyright

E-mail: mikaela.fredrikson@rightlivelihood.org
Phone: +46 (0)70 407 0325

Emoke Bebiak

English, French & International Media

E-mail: emoke.bebiak@rightlivelihood.org
Phone: +41 (0)78 333 84 84

Nayla Azzinnari

Spanish Media

E-mail: nayla@rightlivelihood.org
Phone: +54 9 11 5460 9860

Nina Tesenfitz

German Media

E-mail: presse@rightlivelihood.org
Phone: +49 (0)170 5763 663

Sydney Nelson

Swedish Media

E-mail: sydney.nelson@rightlivelihood.org
Phone: +46 (0)73 043 13 01