Amy Goodman, Bill McKibben and Daniel Ellsberg headline Right Livelihood Award Laureates’ Conference in Santa Cruz

Press releases 02.05.2018


A large group of U.S. and Canadian Laureates of the Right Livelihood Award, widely known as the ‘Alternative Nobel Prize’, gather at University of California, Santa Cruz, 15-18 May to advance social and environmental justice. Public events focus on climate change, water protection and nuclear threat.

Journalist Amy Goodman, environmentalist Bill McKibben and whistleblower Daniel Ellsberg are three of the leading change makers that come together to discuss opportunities for advancing justice and sustainability in times when challenges are rising, both regionally and globally. Other champions of change to attend the first-ever Conference of North American Right Livelihood Award Laureates include Inuit activist Sheila Watt-Cloutier, writer and researcher Frances Moore-Lappé and Paul Walker who is leading the fight to rid the world of chemical weapons.

“The election of Donald Trump as 45th President of the United States has proven to be a serious blow to sustainability, justice and peace. By bringing together our North American Laureates who are leading advocates within various fields, we are presenting real alternatives to counter the current wave of populism and fake solutions”, said Ole von Uexkull, Executive Director of the Right Livelihood Award Foundation.

The Conference of North American Right Livelihood Award Laureates will take place 15-18 May at University of California, Santa Cruz, which in 2013 was designated the first Right Livelihood College in North America. Many Laureates are available throughout the conference program, and interested media are encouraged to contact the Right Livelihood Award Foundation to schedule interviews.

The public is invited to attend free public events, including a day-long teach-in with laureates. Seating at all events is limited and advance registration is requested. A full schedule of public events can be found online.

For more information and interviews with Laureates, contact Johannes Mosskin (details below). 

Conference highlights

About the Right Livelihood Award

The Right Livelihood Award – widely known as the ‘Alternative Nobel Prize’ – was established in 1980 to honour and support courageous people and organizations offering visionary and exemplary solutions to the root causes of global problems. In addition to presenting the annual award, the Right Livelihood Award Foundation also supports the work of its Laureates, particularly those whose lives may be in danger due to the nature of their activities.

About University of California, Santa Cruz

The University of California, Santa Cruz, has earned national distinction as a university with high-impact research and an uncommon commitment to teaching and public service. A campus with world-class facilities and one of the most visually spectacular settings in higher education, UC Santa Cruz provides unparalleled opportunities for students to learn through hands-on experience. A commitment to environmental stewardship and community engagement are also central to UCSC’s core values.

Media contacts

Emoke Bebiak

English, French & International Media

Phone: +41 (0)78 333 84 84

Nayla Azzinnari

Spanish Media

Phone: +54 9 11 5460 9860

Nina Tesenfitz

German Media

Phone: +49 (0)170 5763 663

Johannes Mosskin

Swedish Media

Phone: +46 (0)70 437 11 48