Members of the 2022 Right Livelihood Jury.

Introducing the 2022 Right Livelihood Jury

News 25.08.2022

Each year, a jury made up of international experts, including many previous Right Livelihood Laureates, selects the new recipients of the Right Livelihood Award.

This year, the following experts are serving on our jury:

Paul Walker is a disarmament expert from the United States and the Director of Green Cross International’s Environmental Security and Sustainability programme. Throughout his career, he has collaborated with a multitude of international organisations working on arms control and justice. He received the Right Livelihood Award in 2013.

Glorene Das is the Executive Director of Tenaganita Women’s Force in Malaysia. Founded by the late 2005 Right Livelihood Laureate Irene Fernandez, Tenaganita is a human rights organisation dedicated to helping and protecting migrants, refugees, women and children from exploitation, discrimination, slavery and human trafficking.

Juan Pablo Orrego is a Chilean ecologist and environmentalist, who currently serves as president of the NGO Ecosistemas. He is one of the most influential environmental voices in Latin America due to his campaigning against dam projects in Chile that threatened local communities and valuable ecosystems. He received the Right Livelihood Award in 1998.

Nnimmo Bassey is a Nigerian environmental expert and the Executive Director of Health of Mother Earth Foundation, an environmental/ecological think tank and advocacy organisation. He also co-founded Environmental Rights Action (ERA) to deal with environmental human rights issues in Nigeria, where he serves as a member of the Advisory Board until today. He received the Right Livelihood Award in 2010.

Mozn Hassan is a feminist activist and human rights defender in the Middle East and North Africa (MENA) region. She emerged as a powerful voice raising attention to rampant sexual assaults on women during the 2011 Egyptian revolution. Hassan currently works to raise women’s voices and support regional women’s movements in the MENA region. She received the Right Livelihood Award in 2016.

Jamila Raqib is the Executive Director of the Albert Einstein Institution and a Research Affiliate of the Center for International Studies at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT). She worked closely with Dr Gene Sharp, the world’s foremost scholar on strategic nonviolent action, who received the Right Livelihood Award in 2012.

Gunilla Hallonsten serves as Dean at the Church of Sweden in Malmö. She has previously held several positions at the Church of Sweden, including Acting Executive Director, Acting International Director, Policy Director and Policy Advisor on HIV, Gender and Theology. She also serves as the Chair of Right Livelihood’s Board.

Juliane Kronen is a consultant and entrepreneur. She built a career in strategy consulting, working with the Boston Consulting Group (BCG) on worldwide assignments from 1994 to 2010, and from 2002 onwards as a partner and managing director.

Joshua Castellino serves as the Executive Director of Minority Rights Group, bringing to the Jury a wealth of legal knowledge about minority rights, access to justice and the interplay between security, development and human rights. Previously, he was the Dean of the School of Law at Middlesex University, which he founded in 2012.

Luisa Neubauer is a climate activist from Germany, who emerged as a co-organiser of the country’s Fridays for Future movement. She advocates for a climate policy in line with the Paris Agreement and has campaigned for Germany to phase out coal by 2030.

Media contacts

Emoke Bebiak

English, French & International Media

Phone: +41 (0)78 333 84 84

Nayla Azzinnari

Spanish Media

Phone: +54 9 11 5460 9860

Nina Tesenfitz

German Media

Phone: +49 (0)170 5763 663

Sydney Nelson

Swedish Media

Phone: +46 (0)73 043 13 01