Laureates of the 2016 Right Livelihood Award to be announced on 22 September

News 14.09.2016

The Laureates of this year’s Right Livelihood Award, widely known as the ‘Alternative Nobel Prize’, will be announced on 22 September in Stockholm at 10:00 CET (08:00 UTC) at the Swedish Foreign Office International Press Centre (Fredsgatan 6).

The announcement will be made by Ole von Uexkull, Executive Director, and Marianne Andersson, Board Member of the Right Livelihood Award Foundation. The international Jury convened in Überlingen, Germany from 8-11 September to select the recipients of the 2016 Right Livelihood Award from a total of 125 nominations from 50 countries.

Established in 1980, the Right Livelihood Award honours and supports courageous people and organisations offering visionary and exemplary solutions to the root causes of global problems.

In addition to presenting the annual award, the Right Livelihood Award Foundation supports the work of its Laureates, particularly those who may be in danger due to the nature of their activities.

Today, there are 162 Right Livelihood Award Laureates from 67 countries who have been recognised for their outstanding vision and work on behalf of people and the planet.

Previous Laureates include environmentalists David Suzuki (Canada) and Vandana Shiva (India), human rights activists Jacqueline Moudeina (Chad), Dr Denis Mukwege (DR Congo) and Bianca Jagger (Nicaragua), as well as Swedish children’s book author Astrid Lindgren and high-profile US whistleblowers Daniel Ellsberg and Edward Snowden.

Due to security regulations, all media representatives who are not accredited with the Swedish Foreign Office, must register before 21 September via e-mail, and be in a possession of a valid ID.

The announcement will be live streamed via:


For more information, please contact:

International media: Xenya Cherny-Scanlon, Director of Communications, mobile: +41 76 690 8798, e-mail

Swedish-speaking media: Johannes Mosskin, Public Relations Advisor, mobile: +46 (0)70 43 71 148, e-mail:

German-speaking media: Holger Michel, phone: +49 30 600 319 3342, mobile: +49 (0)178 6623 679, e-mail:

Spanish-speaking media: Nayla Azzinnari, phone: +54 3543 422 236, mobile: +54 9 11 5460 9860, e-mail:

Asia-based media: Karan Singh, mobile: +852 6902 5325, e-mail:, phone: +852 2695 6523, Twitter @rlafoundation


2016 Media Advisory in English

2016 Media Advisory in Swedish

2016 Media Advisory in Russian

2016 Media Advisory in German

2016 Media Advisory in Spanish

2016 Media Advisory in French


Media contacts

Emoke Bebiak

English, French & International Media

Phone: +41 (0)78 333 84 84

Nayla Azzinnari

Spanish Media

Phone: +54 9 11 5460 9860

Nina Tesenfitz

German Media

Phone: +49 (0)170 5763 663

Johannes Mosskin

Swedish Media

Phone: +46 (0)70 437 11 48