2020 Laureates to be revealed in press conference on October 1

Press releases 16.09.2020

2020 Laureates of the Right Livelihood Award, widely known as the “Alternative Nobel Prize,” are set to be announced in Stockholm on Thursday, October 1.

The presentation of this year’s Laureates is taking place at 9.00 CEST during a live press conference at Kulturhuset Stadsteatern and will also be available via live stream.

The new Laureates will be presented by Ole von Uexkull, Executive Director of the Right Livelihood Foundation, and Amelie von Zweigbergk, Vice-Chair of the Foundation’s Board and Jury Member.

Time: 9.00 CEST on Thursday, October 1, 2020

Place: Kulturhuset Stadsteatern, Sergels torg. Enter the building via the new main entrance located on the ground floor. The press conference is held in Foajé 3, on the third floor.

Register: To sign up for the press conference, please send an email to communications@rightlivelihood.org

Watch online on the Foundation’s website: rightlivelihood.org

Live broadcast: To receive a live broadcast, please contact communications@rightlivelihood.org

In 2020, 182 nominations from 71 countries were considered. Through the Foundation’s open selection process, anyone could submit an individual or organisation for consideration by this year’s nomination deadline of March 4. The recipients have been selected by an international Jury after careful investigation by the Foundation’s Research team. Previous Laureates include Edward Snowden (US), Dr Denis Mukwege (DR Congo) and Greta Thunberg (Sweden).

The 2020 Laureates will be honoured at a virtual Award Presentation on Thursday, December 3. More information about the Award Presentation and other events to come shortly.


About the Right Livelihood Award

Established in 1980, the Right Livelihood Award aims to nurture the human courage needed to achieve peace, justice and sustainability for all. By recognizing the actions of brave visionaries and building impactful connections around the world, the Award aims to boost innovative and lasting social change.

To date, 178 Laureates from 70 countries have received the distinction.

The Stockholm-based Right Livelihood Foundation presenting the Award sees its role as being a megaphone and shield for the Laureates, providing them with long-term support. The Foundation’s main aims are to raise the profile of the Laureates and their work, provide protection when Laureates’ lives and liberty are in danger, and educate people on the innovative solutions presented by Laureates. The Foundation has Special Consultative Status with the UN Economic and Social Council.

Media contacts

Emoke Bebiak

English, French & International Media

E-mail: emoke.bebiak@rightlivelihood.org
Phone: +41 (0)78 333 84 84

Nayla Azzinnari

Spanish Media

E-mail: nayla@rightlivelihood.org
Phone: +54 9 11 5460 9860

Nina Tesenfitz

German Media

E-mail: presse@rightlivelihood.org
Phone: +49 (0)170 5763 663

Sydney Nelson

Swedish Media

E-mail: sydney.nelson@rightlivelihood.org
Phone: +46 (0)73 043 13 01