Selecting the Laureates

Jury members during the 2020 Jury Meeting in Cologne, Germany, credit: Right Livelihood. Below: Executive Director Ole von Uexkull announcing the 2020 Laureates at a press conference at Kulturhuset Stadsteatern, credit: Stina Stjernkvist

Our research process helps our Jury choose the most innovative change-makers from all walks of life.

We receive nominations for the Right Livelihood Award from all regions in the world, covering a variety of topics. This allows us to acquire a sense of what people around the world perceive to be the most urgent problems – and crucially, who is working to solve them.

Each year, we manage upwards of 100 nominations for the Award. During a thorough research process, which lasts roughly from March until September, we build a clear understanding of the nominees’ activities, achievements and reputation among relevant stakeholders. We collect this information by reaching out to independent experts for comment and conducting background research and literature reviews. In some cases, we visit nominees in person to observe their work on the ground first-hand. All information gathered from this process is kept fully confidential.

Following our research, detailed reports are written and submitted to our Board and Jury. It is our Jury that ultimately decides on the year’s Laureates. Composed of Right Livelihood Board members, previous Laureates and their representatives, the Jury meets each September to select the Laureates in a unanimous decision. Their decision is later announced at a press conference in Stockholm, Sweden.

Jury members

  • Sima Samar

    2012 Laureate

  • Nnimmo Bassey

    2010 Laureate

  • Paul Walker

    Board Member

  • Jamila Raqib

    Legacy holder for Gene Sharp (2012 Laureate)

  • Paul Ekins

    Chair of the Board

  • Monika Griefahn

    Vice Chair of the Board

  • Juliane Kronen

    Board Member

  • Anne Rüffer

    President Swiss Support Foundation

  • Juan Pablo Orrego

    1998 Laureate

  • Amelie von Zweigbergk

    Vice Chair of the Board

  • Cassia Bechara

    MST, 1991 Laureate

  • Gunilla Hallonsten

    Board Member

  • Ole von Uexkull

    Executive Director

Read more

  • About the Award

    The Right Livelihood Award has, to date, recognised the courageous and visionary achievements of 186 change-makers from 73 countries. Here’s what that means for them.

    Read more
  • Award Presentation

    We welcome change-makers into the Right Livelihood community at our annual Award Presentation in Stockholm. This is our way of celebrating those creating a better future for all.

    Read more
  • Award Sculpture

    Created by Swedish sculptor Eva Hild, the Right Livelihood Award Sculpture is made of Humanium Metal, a material produced from recycled guns.

    Read more