Laureates of the 2017 Right Livelihood Award to be announced on 26 September

News / Press releases 14.09.2017

The Laureates of this year’s Right Livelihood Award, widely known as the ‘Alternative Nobel Prize’, will be announced on 26 September. The announcement will take place in Stockholm at 09:00 CET (07:00 UTC) at the Swedish Foreign Office International Press Centre, Fredsgatan 6.

The announcement will be made by Ole von Uexkull, Executive Director, and Maina Kiai, Jury member and former UN Special Rapporteur on the rights to freedom of peaceful assembly and of association. The international Jury convened in Merlischachen, Switzerland, from 8-10 September to select the recipients of the 2017 Right Livelihood Award.

Established in 1980, the Right Livelihood Award honours and supports courageous people and organisations offering visionary and exemplary solutions to the root causes of global problems.

In addition to presenting the annual award, the Right Livelihood Award Foundation actively supports the work of its Laureates, including protecting those whose life and liberty has been put at risk by their efforts.

Today, there are 166 Right Livelihood Award Laureates from 68 countries who have been recognised for their outstanding vision and contribution to humanity and the planet.

Previous Laureates include high-profile US whistleblowers Edward Snowden and Daniel Ellsberg, British journalist Alan Rusbridger, the newspaper Cumhuriyet (Turkey), environmentalist Vandana Shiva (India), human rights activists Bianca Jagger (Nicaragua), Jacqueline Moudeina (Chad), Dr Denis Mukwege (DR Congo) and Martín Almada (Paraguay), as well as Swedish children’s book author Astrid Lindgren.

Due to security regulations, all media representatives who are not accredited with the Swedish Foreign Office must register before 25 September by sending an email to, and be in a possession of a valid ID.

The announcement will be live streamed via:


About the selection process:

Anyone can propose candidates to be considered for a Right Livelihood Award. Through this open nomination process, the Foundation receives a clear indication of what citizens around the world consider to be the most pressing issues of our time, and the individuals who dedicate themselves to solving them.

After careful research by the Foundation’s research team, reports on the current proposals are submitted to the Foundation’s board and international Jury. The Jury meets annually in September to select the Recipients.

Media contacts

Emoke Bebiak

English, French & International Media

Phone: +41 (0)78 333 84 84

Marina Shupac

Eastern European Media

Phone: + 373 799 74 628

Mikaela Fredrikson

Multimedia & Copyright

Phone: +46 (0)70 407 0325

Nayla Azzinnari

Spanish Media

Phone: +54 9 11 5460 9860

Nina Tesenfitz

German Media

Phone: +49 (0)170 5763 663

Johannes Mosskin

Swedish Media

Phone: +46 (0)70 437 11 48