Right Livelihood Award 2015 Stockholm 12 / 2015 Photo: Wolfgang Schmidt

Nominations Open: Propose a Candidate for the 40th Right Livelihood Award

Press releases 22.01.2019

Laureates 2015-5380

The Right Livelihood Award, widely known as the ‘Alternative Nobel Prize’, will be presented for the 40th time in December 2019. The Swedish Foundation behind the Award is now inviting people from across the globe to propose candidates who are working in a visionary and exemplary manner to solve global problems. The deadline is set to 1 March.

“We are seeking new candidates from all walks of life who are practical visionaries – people who are creating structural changes through concrete and successful work. As we maintain an open nomination process, everyone is welcome to propose any individual or organisation they feel live up to this standard” said Ole von Uexkull, Executive Director of the Right Livelihood Award Foundation.

The deadline to submit a nomination is set to 1 March 2019. After careful investigation by the Foundation’s research team, reports on the current proposals are submitted to the Foundation’s board and international Jury. The Jury meets in September to select four recipients.

The Right Livelihood Award is annually presented to four Laureates. Unlike most other international prizes, it has no categories. The Award recognises that, in striving to meet the human challenges of today’s world, the most inspiring and remarkable work often defies any standard classification. Human rights, environment, education, culture and democracy-building are some examples of issues addressed by the, so far, 174 Laureates from 70 countries. Previous Laureates include Dr Denis Mukwege (DR Congo), Edward Snowden (USA), Svetlana Gannushkina (Russia) and Astrid Lindgren (Sweden).

The Right Livelihood Award will be presented for the 40th time in December and the Announcement of the 2019 Laureates in September marks the start of the celebration of the Foundation’s 40th anniversary, which includes celebrations of practical solutions to global problems in Stockholm, Geneva, Bangkok, Addis Ababa and Medellín.

Read more about the nomination process here. To propose a candidate, please follow these guidelines. Proposals for the award must remain confidential. Publicising of a proposal will result in disqualification.


For more information and interview requests, see contact details below.

About the Right Livelihood Award Foundation

Established in 1980, the Right Livelihood Award Foundation honours and supports courageous people and organisations offering visionary and exemplary solutions to the root causes of global problems. The Swedish Foundation sees its role as being the megaphone and shield for the Laureates, and provides them with long-term support. It seeks to help protect those Award recipients whose life and liberty are in danger. The Foundation has Special Consultative Status with the UN Economic and Social Council.

Media contacts

Emoke Bebiak

English, French & International Media

E-mail: emoke.bebiak@rightlivelihood.org
Phone: +41 (0)78 333 84 84

Nayla Azzinnari

Spanish Media

E-mail: nayla@rightlivelihood.org
Phone: +54 9 11 5460 9860

Nina Tesenfitz

German Media

E-mail: presse@rightlivelihood.org
Phone: +49 (0)170 5763 663

Johannes Mosskin

Swedish Media

E-mail: johannes@rightlivelihood.org
Phone: +46 (0)70 437 11 48